Wednesday, September 02, 2009

The Time Traveler's Wife

I have been reading this book, and I adore it. The story is quirky, fun, and original; the romance is beautiful, unexpected, and timeless. Husband took me to the movie tonight, which I've been dying to see. I do wish they'd taken more time to develop the early relationship between Clare and Henry, but other than that I loved it...and I only cried a little. Although it diverges from the book slightly--don't all movies?--how could I resist the prospect of seeing Henry traipsing about in the nude, a la Eric Bana. Oo la la! Plus, Rachel McAdams is one of my favorite young actresses, and she was a great fit for the role. If you love a great romance in the vein of The Notebook, I highly recommend this movie. But the book is an absolute must read.

5 comments:

JJ Beattie said...

Oh Angie... I've had this book on my shelves for a year or more and ... well, it's the 'time travel' bit I'm having trouble with.

Still my book club told me on Tuesday to read it before the film comes out and to think of it as a love story.

And your post has helped too. Thank you.

Kristen said...

I'm glad you enjoyed the book and that you got to see the movie last night. Yay! :-) The book got better and better for me as it went on. By the end, I was completely hooked and then floored by the final chapters. Such an awesome story. And meow to Eric Bana!

Angie said...

JJ, I've been waiting to read it for awhile too, but the movie gave me the motivation to dive in. The time travel aspect isn't technical or sci-fi-ish, it's more of a romantic complication, if you will. :)
Definitely think of it as a love story. I highly recommend it!

Kris, great book, good movie! It definitely builds momentum, especially because you're constantly adjusting yourself in time. I love the uniqueness of the story. And more Eric Bana please! *prrr*
p.s. I still want to hear your thoughts on the writing...you said you noticed some indications that it was a first novel.

Chad Aaron Sayban said...

I've been considering picking up this book. Based on your post, I just might have to now.

Angie said...

Chad, glad to convince another reader. It's a great book. But it was the Eric Bana description that sold you, wasn't it? haha J/K ;)